Therein Lies the Rub


Dear Ms. Feverfew-

I just wanted to reassure you (and myself) that my silence over the past couple of weeks isn’t from a lack of things to say. Trust me on that one. Certainly, the silence isn’t from a lack of having time to write to you either.  That I have in spades…at least for the next 4 weeks and 4 days until this baby is born. Since I am on bedrest, all I have right now is time – time and my thoughts and therein lies the rub.

When pressed for time, I am usually able to dash off something pithy, articulate, and insightful.  However, now that I have all the time a girl could want, I find myself unable to put my thoughts onto the page. But  this little Penelope Rose is pressing me, pushing me, pummeling me from the inside both literally and metaphysically. She is pushing the boundaries of my growth, my healing, my ability to rely on grace.  Her not-so-gentle roiling and rolling inside of me is a constant reminder of you and that she is not my first daughter.

So I just wanted you to know, that even though I am not writing as frequently, I think of you all the time. Maybe if I just start writing again, my thought will sort them selves out…

Much love,

M.

4 thoughts on “Therein Lies the Rub

  1. Sorry about the bed rest. I’ve been there…it’s funny because some days all we want to do is crawl back in bed…but when you are forced to be there it is anything but fun.
    Hang in there.

  2. P.S. I was in Sunday School a few weeks ago and we read that Adam says of Eve that she is “bone of my bone, flesh of my flesh”…I knew it sounded familiar! I know you already sited the poem to me but I guess the original thought came from Adam. I thought it was really cool.

  3. Been there too and it’s hard for an active mind to be in a body that’s resting..but of course yours is doing the important work of growing a baby! treat yourself to wonderful food, all the treats you don’t get time for otherwise(music, poetry, books, movies etc).I’m sure you’ll be spending time thinking on the amazing synchronicity of your new daughter being born near the 18th of your first daughter.Very best wishes, Von

Leave a Reply

