She’s Here!!!


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

I had the most glorious of experiences on Monday morning, welcoming your new little sister into the world. She is perfect, simply perfect and trails healing in her path.

Her calm, Zen like acceptance of life on life’s terms (unlike The Professor’s rigid endurance of his first few months on earth) is just what this mother needed.

I will write more later, but for now, let’s just say she is exactly the child I needed the most, even though I had no idea I needed her this badly.

Much love,

Your mother and new sister

P.S. Did I mention she has your exquisite lips?

11 thoughts on “She’s Here!!!

  1. Oh! So incredibly happy for you and your family. I know this is bittersweet for you on some level, but things will work out for you…I just know it! ♥

    • Thanks Cricket – the birth of this little one is bittersweet on so many levels but at the same time, so healing for me as well. Preparing for her arrival has forced me to confront long-unacknowledged demons and has been such a catalyst in moving me through my adoption grief. My mom came from UT to spend some time with us and for the first time, I am talking openly and honestly with her about what losing my first daughter has done to my life. Having Penelope Rose around to serve as a “talking point” has been really helpful for me in opening up with others about losing a daughter to adoption.

      Thanks again for the kind words and thoughts for our little family!

      M.

    • Thank you Desi! She is everything I needed and so much more, as cliche as that sounds. I can hardly wait to get to know her as she gets older!

      M.

    • Isn’t that the truth, Mary?

      I hope to be back to writing more now that she is on the outside and things are settling into a routine. I miss connecting with all my friends out there in bloggy land!

      M.

  2. Huge Congrats! I’m sorry I didn’t see this earlier… I am thrilled for you and hope you enjoy every single second with your precious little girl.

    Myst xxx

Leave a Reply

