I Must Be Tired Because I Think This is Hilarious


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

I recently found out a person I know rather well and his wife of 14 years recently adopted a baby. Now mind you, this is one of those rare times when there was an infant truly in need of a home. The little guy was born weighing 2 lbs. 2 oz. and in desperate need for someone to love him as his mother sadly had no desire nor ability to parent this tiny life.  But frankly, I am shocked that this particular couple was allowed to adopt.  It’s one of those situations where if you know all the facts, you say, “Well, there is a reason why some couples can’t have children.”  Let’s just say that this particular person has some uh…ummm…well, he inherited his bio-dad’s proclivities.  And has been hauled into court for his behavior, so it isn’t just me saying this.  State of Utah knows it as well. (Oh yeah, he molested a girl 10 years younger than him for years and let his buddies help themselves to her too, but it only when on until he was just shy of his 18th birthday so it doesn’t show up on his adult record.)

Perplexed as to how this particular couple passes a home study, I went searching for adoption laws/home study rules in UT on Google.  And this is what popped up:

May Harm Computer

I got a good laugh when I saw that going to the site “www.adoption.org” may harm your computer.  I thought, “Harm my computer? That’s an understatement. Harm my computer. That’s just the start of the harm that comes from that website.

But, I guess if I were an potential adoptive parent, I wouldn’t find it so harmful. Maybe might find it pretty helpful. Who knows. I am not an potential adoptive parent so I guess I will never know. I just found it funny from the perspective of a first mother who lost her oldest daughter to adoption.

Hope school is going well for you and that you are finding much satisfaction and joy there –

M.

2 thoughts on “I Must Be Tired Because I Think This is Hilarious

  1. Isn’t it crazy how in real life we all know adopters who never should be allowed to adopt?
    I know some in real life too, back when they did adopt, we were all abuzz, wondering what agency in the world would give those people kids?! Now each time I see them around, with their adoptees, I cringe.
    I guess it’s like that statement “You need a license to keep a dog, but any idiot can have a kid…” Or in their cases, adopt a kid.

    I can say without a doubt, Google is correct, adoption has been harmful to me, and my family, and my friends, not just my computer!

Leave a Reply

