“And it’s like the fog has lifted”


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

Mr. Amazing Man and I went and saw “Tangled” again. We both cried, again. (Side note: Mr. Amazing Man looks an awful lot like the king in that movie, especially when he comes home from a deployment sporting a goatee.  Normally, I like a clean shaven face, but Mr. Amazing Man with a goatee makes me weak in the knees.)

But back to the movie that has made a grown man cry three different times: The first time I saw it, I was too wrapped up in the story to truly appreciate the animation. WOWZERS. Disney has really hit it out of the ballpark with this one! Exquisite in every detail and nearly technically perfect. Amazing stuff in it’s own right.

And then there is the story. And the songs. The song.

Towards the end of the movie, Rapunzel is out floating on the lake with Flynn/Eugene when the lanterns start to fill the sky on the evening of her birthday (her parents and all the people in the kingdom celebrate the missing princess’s birthday each year by lighting floating lanterns). Rapunzel doesn’t know she is the lost princess, but she is drawn to the lights –  deep in her heart she knows that somehow, she is connected to them.  Surrounded by the gorgeous scene of floating lanterns lit by her family and those who miss her, Rapunzel sings the following words:

All those days watching from the windows, all those years outside looking in.  All that time never even knowing just how blind I’ve been. Now I’m here blinking in the starlight, now I’m here suddenly I see; Standing here it’s all so clear I’m where I’m meant to be. And at last I see the light, and it’s like the fog has lifted. And at last I see the light and its like the sky is new. And its warm and real and bright, and the world has somehow shifted. (Rapunzel, I See the Light, Tangled).

That is such a perfect description of what it feels like when the adoption fog finally lifts…your eyes are opened, only to discover your whole world has shifted.

And there is no going back to what it was like before.

Hopefully, someday, we will have our own happily ever after and every thing will be warm and real and bright.

Until then, much love and belief –

M.

P.S. Yesterday morning, as Mr. Amazing Man was laying in bed playing with a cooing, babbling Penelope while I was dressing, he called out and said, “You know, it’s like I have an 18 year old daughter out there that I have never met. I feel cheated.” You and me both, dear husband, you and me both.

Leave a Reply

