Et tu, Steve, et tu?


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

I guess because I have been living under a rock for the past 38 years, I had no idea that Steve Jobs of Apple/Pixar fame is an adoptee.

Huh. Who knew. Well, other than the whole rest of the world. Turns out people have decided he is much more like his biological parents than his adoptive parents. (No big surprise there since intelligence is a heritable trait).

Turns out his parents got married a few months after he was placed for adoption and went on to have one more child, a successful genius/writer named Mona Simpson. His sister is married…to a man whose last name is Appel. No joke – you can’t make this kind of stuff up. Of his relationship with her, Jobs says only: “We’re family. She’s one of my best friends in the world. I call her and talk to her every couple of days.”  After meeting her and noting their striking similarities, Jobs  firmly decided that nature far outweighs nurture.

He loves his adoptive parents but still wanted to find his biological family.

Seriously, how on earth did I miss this information? (Asked as I type on my 24″ Mac with my iPod charging).

Much love,

M.

4 thoughts on “Et tu, Steve, et tu?

    • You are welcome, Linda. 🙂

      From what the articles say, not only is he in reunion, but in a very settled, relatively “good” one. I *love* that he is comfortable enough with his sister to call her one of his best friends.

      What struck me as very interesting is that they have been so private about all of this. Even though he reunited with them when he was 27 (that would have been around 1984), it wasn’t until 2005 that he even talked about it in a public setting – at a graduation commencement address. Even now, none of them will talk about the why’s of the adoption, the hows of finding each other, etc. in a public setting. I love the story about his sister & the launch of her first book. She told everyone that she was bringing her brother “who was in the computer business” to the party/book signing. Every one was floored that her brother “in the computer business” was Steve Jobs!!!! At that point, they had been reunited for about 2 1/2 years and had built a really close relationship but neither of them had “gone public” so to speak. I can only speculate, but I imagine being able to work on a reunion relationship out of the spotlight of the media was one of the reasons it has been successful.

      M.

  1. Hmmm, very interesting. I wonder if he gives his family all free apple stuff?

    Seriously, how would be be finding out your kid or brother was the CEO of Apple?

    • LOL – I hadn’t thought of that, Laura. I would imagine he hooked them all up with iPods and iPads for life.

      I would think it would be wildly strange to find out something like this…

Leave a Reply

