Why I Have Password Protected Some Things


Dear Friends Who Read This Little Blog o’ Mine:

As many of you know, I sometimes write posts that are pretty raw and full of emotion. I know they can’t be easy for some of you to read, which got me to thinking about “What if Ms. Feverfew ever finds this blog?” I spent a serious amount of time trying to put myself in her shoes. I eventually realized that for her sake, some of these must be password. protected.  This is her story as much as it is mine. While I don’t want to censor my truth, I also realize there are boundaries that should be respected.  Password protecting those posts is an excellent solution to balancing my needs for full disclosure with discretion.

The second thing that made me realize I need to password protect some of these posts is that I need a safe place to just “let it all hang out” as my mama says.  And sometimes “it” is not pretty and can be pretty difficult to digest. And if Ms. Feverfew were to ever stumble upon this blog….she doesn’t need to read those kinds of things.

As I have progressed on the path of healing from the wounds adoption left behind, I have discovered I absolutely need you, my readers. I need to know that I am not alone in this and that others have managed to wade through it and survive.  As many of you already know, there are few therapists out there qualified to help those of us who are hurting from adoption, especially those of us in the LDS church. This blog has become that place for me.

Thank you all for your love and support over the past few years as I have found my bearings. I hope you will stick around and keep reading and giving me your honest feedback.

Much love and belief –

M.

P.S. If you want the password, drop me an email at s o s t i n k i n h a p p y (at symbol) h o t m a i l d o t c o m. Let me know who you are because sometimes I don’t always recognize email addresses!

9 thoughts on “Why I Have Password Protected Some Things

  1. I found your blog when it was password protected and was disappointed I wouldn’t get to read it because a bunch of people had recommended it to me. I just realized today that it’s back up and I’m really happy. I love your style of writing already and I’m learning a lot from just the few posts I’ve read.

    I have my own blog about my adoption reunion, and I recently made some changes to password protect certain entries as well. I don’t want to inflict damage if I don’t need to and there are certain things I just wouldn’t want my first family to read because it’s raw and honest. I’m working through my issues and how they are treating me, and they just need to see the finished product, not all the work that it took to get there. Like you, I depend on my readers. I need them and I don’t like that I had to PW protect things. But c’est la vie!

    I’m looking forward to catching up with your blog!

    • Jenn –

      I have actually been reading your blog for a while, too! I have such a tough time stomaching how your first mother is handling things. I mean, I get it, but I don’t get it, all at the same time if that makes any kind of sense. I really appreciate you being willing to share your journey with the rest of us in the blogosphere. I *love* what you said, “I’m working through my issues and how they are treating me, and they just need to see the finished product, not all the work that it took to get there.” What a brilliant observation of this whole blogging experience.

      Melynda

Leave a Reply

