Steve Jobs’ Mother Changed the World By Choosing Adoption


Dear Ms. Ferverfew –

I wondered how long it would take before Steve Job’s life and death would be used by the pro-adoption folks an example of all that is fabulous and good about adoption. According to them, his mother changed the world when she placed him for adoption.

http://www.patheos.com/community/deaconsbench/2011/10/01/homily-for-october-2-2011-27th-sunday-in-ordinary-time/

I want to scream at these people – DO THEY NOT UNDERSTAND STEVE HAD A FATHER AND A MOTHER WHO LOVED HIM? WHO WANTED HIM?????? DON’T THEY UNDERSTAND STEVE WOULD HAVE BEEN RAISED BY THEM IF HER FATHER WASN’T A RACIST?

There is so much to be said, and yet, sadly – that is all I can bring myself to write this morning. Now I need to go find the box of Kleenex again and see if I can’t get myself calmed down before Penelope wakes up from her morning nap.

M.

8 thoughts on “Steve Jobs’ Mother Changed the World By Choosing Adoption

  1. Of course she did change the world, but I think that the world without her child turned into Steve Jobs would have been a better one.

  2. From reading the post I was under the impression the author’s focus was on abortion not on adoption. “It will end when we see life not as a problem to be solved, but as a gift to be embraced.” My interpretation was that he was talking of the sanctity of life, and that simply put Steve’s mother had opted out of the choice of abortion. Had she made a different choice and chose to terminate his life then yes the world would have been different, I don’t think that can really be disputed. Had he been aborted his influence would have been non existent in the world today, whereas if his parent’s had chosen to parent there would still have been the possibility of his influence, maybe in the same way maybe in a different way. Does that make sense?

  3. Here’s one of many nauseating comments on that post:

    “Tomorrow is the feast day for Guardian Angels. I sometimes think about the Guardian Angels of those women who give their precious baby up for adoption. What joy it must be. Conversely, what a heartbreak for the guardian angels of those women who choose abortion.”

    Really? The Guardian Angel feels joy at witnessing a mother’s eternally broken heart over losing her baby to adoption? This is why i simply can’t tolerate so many religion folks…they are just so “joyful” over other people’s pain.

    • Oh, this took my breath away!!!! Joy???? Do they really think my “guardian angels” are joyful about my daily pain and that of my kept children, the ones who don’t know their sister????? Joy??? I think I need to go throw up now. 😦 I feel physically ill.

      I am so grateful the God of my understanding doesn’t rejoice in my suffering, nor do his angels.

  4. “I am so grateful the God of my understanding doesn’t rejoice in my suffering, nor do his angels.”

    You give me hope that there is an understanding of God and faith that is based on true compassion and love. Thanks for writing here, you inspire me.

  5. Suppose Steve Jobs’ mother and father had gotten married and kept him….instead of inventing iStuff, he might have become a medical researcher and developed a cure for cancer. Ya’ never know.

    Just pointing out the futiltiy of saying all his success is due to adoption.

    Also agreeing with Mei Ling’s comment that just become something is an option doens’t mean it was considered. I have the option of eating nothing but Big Macs, doesn’t mean I ever really entertain the idea.

Leave a Reply

