Just in Time


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

On Thursday, we packed up the kids and schlepped everyone 6.5 hours away to Orlando. No, we weren’t headed to Disneyworld, Universal Studios, Sea World, Lego Land, or Busch Gardens. We went to Orlando so we could go to this place:

(See here, here and here for more information about temples and why they are so important to the LDS people).

Our visit came just in time.

“Sometimes our minds are so beset with problems, and there are so many things clamoring for attention at once that we just cannot think clearly and see clearly. At the temple the dust of distraction seems to settle out, the fog and the haze seem to lift, and we can ‘see’ things that we were not able to see before and find a way through our troubles that we had not previously known.” (Boyd K. Packer).

Beset with problems. Yes, that accurately describes my state of affairs lately. And yes, I was able to see things more clearly than I have in quite some time while I was there. I still haven’t been able to unwind the Gordian knot that is infant adoption, LDS theology, and the LDS culture, but at least I have a bit more perspective about what I feel like the Lord is asking of me.

At any rate, it was a wonderful way to spend the weekend. Even if I did have to drive a really long way to go there.

Much love,

M.

P.S. I password protected that last post. As I was in the shower this morning I thought, “How would I feel if that were my son or daughter?” Clearly, this person in question doesn’t have any problem with her son’s picture being splashed across the internet and discussed, featured, and highlighted on various blogs, but what is that were my adopted son? My adopted grandson? Truth be told, even though this mother is completely comfortable with it, I would not do that to my own adopted child who had already survived the loss of home, family, culture, language, and original identity at such a tender age.  So I password protected it – it’s the same as always but drop me a line if you forgot it.

 

Leave a Reply

