Dear Glenn Beck: A Reprise


Dear Glenn –

Not sure if you remember me or not. Remember how I had to break up with you last June when I found out you were an adoptive parent? Well, there you go…you are at it again, sounding like a completely clueless, self-centered adoptive parent.

Last night on your show you had a spot with Stephanie Nielsen of The NieNie Dialogues.  She talked of the time after her accident when her youngest son Nicolas didn’t recognize her and how difficult that was for her as a mother.

One of the first things you say to her is this:

“I can’t imagine [long pause] what it would be like to have your child not know you.”

Well, I can Glenn. Not only can I imagine it, I live it on a daily basis. I will live it for the rest of the eternities, too, thanks to our religion.

So does the mother of your son.

You then ask Stephanie,

“How long did it take before he was yours again?”

Six months, she says. With lots of prayer and patience.  Earlier in the segment, she had this to say on the matter:

“He realized that I was his mother, and our spirits were very recognizable, that we share the same blood. My touch was the same,  my voice the same, and my heart the same. I loved him more than ever. The eternal bonds of motherhood and children are sacred and… are able to come back.”

I wonder if you ever think of the mother of your son when you hear the powerful message that Stephanie bears witness to. Let me repeat that just in case you didn’t hear it: The eternal bonds of motherhood and children are sacred. It was not any less so for the mother of your son. Do you ever wonder what it must be like for her to have her son not know her as his mother, what it is like to hear him call you dad and your wife mom? For some reason, I don’t know that the thought has ever crossed your mind. You are too busy making sure you let people know he is yours.

Respectfully,

M.

 

7 thoughts on “Dear Glenn Beck: A Reprise

  1. “Do you ever wonder what it must be like for her to have her son not know her as his mother, what it is like to hear him call you dad and your wife mom?”

    No, he doesn’t. None of them do. You are so right, they are too busy making sure everyone “thinks” they are theirs. Too bad for them we and OUR children know better…

    • I think there are *some* adoptive parents who understand recognize and respect the bond between a child and his original parents. I know of a few myself. It’s just there are not very many of them out there. Very few of them indeed.

      The rest of them are making sure the entire world knows who owns their kids. After all, they have the receipt for them and they will proudly wave it in front of you face any time you question them.

  2. Oh how the conversation is different when the word “adoption” is not involved. Had she been an original mother, it would have been all “blood doesn’t make a family!!!”

    *sigh*

  3. Great post!

    I hear stuff like that all the time–and we have to keep quiet unless we are with sisters who understand. I wonder if Beck even reacted when she used the naughty word “blood” in relation to her son. We’re not supposed to ever use it–but it’s okay if adoption is not part of the story.

Leave a Reply

