Faith, Hope, and You


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

“…today, the idea of faith returns to me. Faith defies logic and propels us beyond hope because it is not attached to our desires. Faith is the centerpiece of a connected life. It allows us to live by the grace of invisible strands. It is a belief in a wisdom superior to our own. Faith becomes a teacher in the absence of fact.” (Terry Tempest Williams, 1991. Refuge, pp. 198).

Propels us beyond hope. Yes, that is exactly what I need. To be propelled beyond the hope of having you in my life again, beyond the longing that causes my bones to ache in their marrow.

Faith.

Such an easy word to say. Such a difficult word to live. But live it I must, or something vital  in me will die.

M.

4 thoughts on “Faith, Hope, and You

  1. Faith is a power in and of its own. Faith provided healing to a women who had an issue of blood and knew that just by touching the Savior’s hem she could be healed – and so it was. Thank you for reminding me of this power we have available to us in our life.

    • When the prayed for healing doesn’t come and hope dissolves, what is left but faith? And it is those “invisible strands” that lead us to ask, “What am I to do now, Lord? What am I to learn? How am I to change?”

      Sometimes, like now, God answers with what the Buddha calls “noble silence.” And so I wait for His wisdom, far stronger than my own.

  2. Loved this. You have a way of taking my battles and writing them so beautifully. Your pain is yours but many of us can genuinely empathize.

Leave a Reply

