Courage


Dear Ms. Feverfew,

Remember Bishop F.? You know, the one who arranged and facilitated your adoption? Yeah, that guy.

I emailed him a couple of days ago that said,

I am currently taking a memoir writing class and was given an assignment by my teacher, one that I have discovered I need your help to complete. She wants me to write about the *very* night I handed [Ms. Feverfew} over to [her adoptive parents]. I would really be interested in spending some time talking with you about what you remember, what your perspective was on the whole event. Do you have some free time that we might be able to chat over the phone? I would really appreciate it and it would be most helpful in this process to have someone other than me help me recall what took place at that specific moment in time.

He emailed me back and told me he would be happy to chat with me, just call him after 7:00 p.m. Well, it’s after 7:00 p.m. and I am about to pick up the phone. I don’t know how this will turn out…I just know I need to do it before I lose my courage.

Much love,

M.

6 thoughts on “Courage

  1. I cant even imagine how painful that would be to hear from another person…especially from another person who had no personal ties to you or your daughter. Especially not from the person who arranged it. Sending you hugs, friend.

  2. I hope the conversation gave you what you needed. I cannot imagine making a call like that, although I have done so for myself in the past. It’s just what we must do. (((M)))

    Your memoir is going to be brilliant. xx

  3. M – I can’t imagine talking to my SW now that facilitated my daughter’s adoption. You have so much courage.

    • I had to, Jeannette, if that makes any sense at all. Talking with him was like cutting away the last of the gangrenous flesh from this wound. It was terrible and painful, but it had to be done.

Leave a Reply

