Darling, Don’t Be Afraid


Heart beats fast
Colors and promises
How to be brave
How can I love
when I’m afraid
To fall
But watching you stand alone
All of my doubt
Suddenly goes away somehow
One step closer

I have died everyday
waiting for you
Darling, don’t be afraid
I have loved you for a
Thousand years
I’ll love you for a
Thousand more

Time stands still
beauty in all she is
I will be brave
I will not let anything
Take away
What’s standing in front of me
Every breath,
Every hour has come to this

One step closer

I have died everyday
waiting for you
Darling, don’t be afraid
I have loved you for a
Thousand years
I’ll love you for a
Thousand more

One step closer
One step closer

I have died everyday
waiting for you
Darling, don’t be afraid
I have loved you for a
Thousand years
I’ll love you for a
Thousand more

And all along
I believed
I would find you
Time has brought
Your heart to me
I have loved you for a
Thousand years
I’ll love you for a
Thousand more

(A Thousand Years in Christina Perri)

3 thoughts on “Darling, Don’t Be Afraid

  1. Oh Melynda – The first time I heard that song several months ago, I thought of my son who I’m trying to reunite with and bawled. I watch that lyrics video every once in a while just to give me a chance to “let it out” and it never ceases to be about him and I and wanting him to know how much I love him and the emotions of what I envision it will be like being face to face with him again. I’m sorry the song was wasted on a vampire movie but I just ignore that fact!

    • I’m sorry the song was wasted on a vampire movie but I just ignore that fact!

      ISN’T THAT THE TRUTH???? I feel the exact same way and I hope my daughter can forgive me for posting anything related to the Twilight series, for which we both have a serious disdain. I will just plead the 13th Article of Faith of the LDS faith with her, “…if there is anything virtuous, lovely or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.” Because it IS a lovely song, even if it is from a movie about a sparkly vampire and his weird infatuation with a high school chick. A sparkly vampire? Really????

    • Oh – interestingly, I saw an new adoptive mom who had linked to this on her blog post about being at the hospital when “her” baby was born. I thought it terribly ironic that mothers on both sides of the equation feel the same way about an adopted child. I know a lot of people think “more people to love them = good!” However, I look at my son, who has me, his dad, his step-dad, and his step-mom, who are all crazy in love with him, plus all of his 50+ aunts and uncles (yes, the child has that many uncles and aunts between his four parents!!!) and 12 million cousins, and sometimes….sometimes he is just overwhelmed with all of the “love.” I can’t imagine what it would feel like to be an adoptee who has a similar set of circumstances, especially if they didn’t grow up knowing how much they were loved by their natural families.

      Just some thoughts this morning…

Leave a Reply

