I Really am a Natural Mother


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

A little secret about your natural mother: I’m a closet vegan. I like to call myself a “whole-food, plant-based” eater, though. There’s something less politically charged about that moniker as opposed to “vegan.”

That being said, I have to admit I occasionally dabble in animal products like raw milk and cream, butter made from raw cream (cultured, of course!), eggs from pastured chickens, or honey. Sometimes, if I am feeling particularly nice towards the meat-eaters in my life, I cook up a pretty awesome (free-range) roast fowl or the most amazing melt-in-your-mouth (grass-fed) roast beef, if you are into that kind of thing. But for the most part, I’m a whole-foods, plant-based girl. Have been for a while. Same with the Poppy and The Professor – after watching “Forks Over Knives,” the husband and oldest boy have decided to join us in our whole-foods, plant-based way of eating.

Some other secrets about me: I make my own almond milk. I make my own nut bags out of unbleached muslin, too.  I use essential oils extensively for my home and health and have since waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay before doTerra decided they were the “in” thing.  I make my own body & hair products from organic extra virgin coconut oil. I only buy raw milk from my local grass-fed dairyman for my family (it’s illegal to buy for human consumption where I live, but we have our ways around that small issue). I make yogurt, butter, and soft cheeses from the milk, too. We eat organic produce I get through the local food co-op. If I had a garden, I would grow them all myself.  I culture veggies on my counter. I soak my grains & nuts before I use them. I make my own nut butters.  If I feed anyone beef, it’s only grass-fed, humanely raised. Same with poultry. I’ve owned a juicer since the mid-’90s. And I use it. I dehydrate herbs to make my own tea blends.  I don’t drink carbonated drinks of any kind, but you should see my collection of teas! I’ve used hypnobirthing techniques and midwives and delivered my babies without epidurals. I prefer to use a naturopath for my first-line health care. I visit the chiropractor regularly. I grind my own wheat and make my own bread. Heck, I grind all kinds of grains to make all kinds of things. (I cringe when I see what they charge for organic rice flour at the store!!!!)

So as you can see, I tend towards a fairly “natural” lifestyle and now that the husband and oldest son are on board, the whole family is along for the ride. This recent turn of events has left me wondering where you fall along the natural foods/lifestyle spectrum. Are you a meat-eater (not that there is anything wrong with that because meat is tasty!), or do you tend to prefer a more vegan/vegetarian fare? I look at the Professor and Poppy and their absolute delight in a whole-foods, plant-based diet and wonder if I taught them that or if they would truly prefer eating this way even if I weren’t around. Is this tendency towards whole-foods, plant-based eating because I nurtured it (as it clearly is with the oldest son), or is it nature (as I think it might be with the two younger ones)?

And what kind of family did you grow up in? Where they meat-and-potato kinds of folks or did you grow up in home well-versed in the many wonders of hemp hearts (tabbouleh salad made with hemp hearts = amazing!)? Did your mom reach for the lavender oil or Tylenol when she had a headache?  I hope whichever kind of family it was, you were raised knowing you are perfect just as you are, whether you prefer an Black Angus burger or a sweet potato veggie one.

Much love,

M.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “I Really am a Natural Mother

  1. Vegetarian Octo-lavo – home made bread from wheat ground moments before starting the process (and other grains). Home preserved fruits, vegetables, juice. 90% grown in the garden, or on the fruit or nut trees, grape vines, berry vines. Recycled as well…50+ years ago.

  2. I love this! My situation is different in that I’ve not been raised to eat very healthy (although as an adult and with my current job, my preferences have drastically changed to a much more organic plant based spectrum) but my sons family is very health conscience and after watching the same documentary have gone about 95% vegan.

    Diet is a great example of the cultural separation that occurs through adoption (both for better and worse).

    • Isn’t that the truth! I think about that all the time with transracial adoptees, and the cultural experiences they miss out on being raised in a completely different society with completely different food traditions than their natural families. Hmmm…you know, I think I wrote a letter about this a few years ago, not really realizing the issue of cultural separation was at the heart of it. https://letterstomsfeverfew.wordpress.com/2010/01/09/on-pani-popo-other-things/ This comment of yours has given me a lot to think about this morning, brinnicole- thank you for that!

  3. I would love to do all of what you said! I only dabble in and out and would love to try more. I am very impressed..I wouldn’t even know where to start on some of the things you mentioned. Can I just come live with you and we can go to the farmers market, cook, bake, eat and laugh?! 😉

Leave a Reply

