The Sisterhood of the Snickerdoodle


snickerdoodlesDear Ms. Feverfew,

In my younger years, my Mom was involved with some activities that had her away from the home long enough for us older kids to get into mischief make a mess of her kitchen make cookies, those illicit baked morsels of sugary goodness that were verboten by my Mom-on-a-diet.Ā  So while she was away, I mastered chocolate chip cookies at a tender age and my older sister mastered Snickerdoodles. Frequently, we could have an entire batch mixed, baked, eaten, and all the incriminating evidence cleaned up before my mom got home. (Eating all those cookies wasn’t as a monumental task as it sounds. After all, there were twelve of us kids!)
snickerdoodles_1Now, every time I make Snickerdoodles a smile steals across my face and I think of my older sister. How could I not? The buttery golden sweetness of the dough wrapped tight in the embrace of the warm of cinnamon will forever be synonymous with her. Some things stick with a girl – this is one of them. The recipe she used made enough Snickerdoodles for…well, for a family of twelve children who were eager to eat them all before Mom came home and found out we had used up all the butter making cookies. (Now that I stop and think about it, I wonder what my Mom thought all those times she would come home to find the pantry raided. It would have been pretty obvious where all the staples went, even if we did clean up the mess and try to air the house out before she got back.)

snickerdoodles_2Recently I made them for my other children, I realized this is a recipe that should have (would have) been passed down to you, too. So here it is now, your invitation and passport into the sisterhood of the Snickerdoodle. I hope you enjoy them as much as we did growing up and as much as Captain Knuckle, The Professor, and Poppy do now.

Much love,

M.

Soft Snickerdoodle Cookies

Ingredients:
2 c. butter
3 c. sugar
4 eggs
6 c. flour
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp cream of tartar
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp good vanilla
1/2 c. sugar
2 Tbsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Bring all ingredients to room temp.
  2. Cream butter in large bowl. Add 3 c. sugar and then blend until light and fluffy.
  3. Add eggs one at a time to butter mixture, beating well after each addition. Blend again until light and fluffy, scraping down sides of bowl as needed.
  4. Sift dry ingredients together. Blend into butter mixture, along with vanilla. Be sure not to over mix, as this will create a cake-like cookie. Dough should be fairly soft.
  5. Chill dough in fridge for 1 hour.
  6. Meanwhile, mix 1/2 c. sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl.
  7. Preheat oven to 350*F
  8. Scoop 1 Tbsp balls of dough into cinnamon sugar mixture, then roll around to coat thoroughly.
  9. Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake for approximately 10 minutes.
  10. Remove cookies from pan as soon as they come out of the oven.
13 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the Snickerdoodle

  1. This truly touched my prickly, shriveled heart. In my household, Dad was the snickerdoodle cook. He’s been gone for five years now, and I miss him more than I know how to say.

    • Time to break out the butter and sugar and make a batch of cookies, Snark. Then pour yourself a tall glass of ice cold milk and raise it to your Dad’s memory.

      Sending love your way – I haven’t lost a parent to death yet. I can’t imagine how it hurts.

      M.

      • Thank you, Melynda. I may just do that, even though my “cooking” generally results in skin burns and/or fire alarms going off. My other fave recipe of his is for cinnamon rolls, and I do make those twice a year.

        I think the death of a parent is one of those “rite of passage” things one can’t comprehend until it happens. Of the three of my four parents I’ve known, he was the one I loved the most.

      • Oh – cinnamon rolls!!!! Those are my kryptonite, I’m afraid. Well, all baked goods really. Should you ever be willing to share his recipe, I would love to try it out. Family recipes are my *favorite* kinds of recipes because of the history they bring with them.

      • (I hope this works. I can’t tell which comment I’m replying to.)

        Melynda, Dad’s cinnie roll recipe is beyond simple (think Bisquik). It sure did make Sunday mornings special, though. I’ll have to see if I can put it in write-down-able form. (-;

      • Oooo – I just had an idea! If you are up for it, maybe you could write a letter to your Dad about your memories attached to the recipe (kind of like I did with this one). Then I will post it here as the first ever “guest post/letter” in the “Letters to Others” category. Like I told murphy in the other comments, I *love* family recipes and the history attached to them. Hmmmmmm…I think I just came up with a new project. šŸ™‚

      • I will need a disproportionate amount of time to write that recipe/blog post, Melynda. If you don’t mind waiting, I’ll start composing.

Leave a Reply

