Are you Thirsty? (Originally Posted Feb 2011)


Dear Ms. Feverfew –

“Children thirst to hear where they came from…
they need to know that they were desired,
that their birth was a wonder, and they were always
the object of love and care.”

~ Marcelle Clements

The boys never tire of hearing about the day they were born, how I labored them into this world. They love to hear of when they were still slippery and wet against my bare skin and we gazed deeply into each others eyes for the first time.

Captain Knuckle joins us earth-side

Captain Knuckle full on smiled at me – yes, a real smile that spoke of recognition and joy at seeing each other again. I don’t care what the experts say, this mother’s heart knows that was his first real smile and it was glorious.  And then I cried because my heart was so full of love for this tiny creature. (That’s us above – Captain Knuckle came so quickly the doctor didn’t even have time to put gloves on! What the picture doesn’t capture is me sobbing over and over and over, “It’s my baby, it’s my baby – no one can take him from me!”)

The Professor is born

When the Professor was born, it was about 25 minutes from the first contraction to when he was placed in my arms. When he landed safely in my arms, he looked up at me with a wide eyed gaze as if to say, “Hi there. I love you. Can you please explain what just happened to me?”  And I cried because my heart was so full of love for this tiny creature.

Princess P with mama on the delivery table

When the doctor (the one with the hands of a surgeon but the heart of a midwife) passed Princess P. across the surgical drape nine months and one day ago, she was placed on my bare skin just like all of her siblings. I couldn’t look directly into her eyes because I was on the surgical table, but I wrapped my arms around her as the nurse snapped my gown back together with Princess P. tucked inside and covered us with warm blankets.  I inhaled deeply and breathed in that heavenly scent of peace and wonder that new babies bring with them. She was so calm, so warm – perfect, just like you. We lay there together for the entire time it took to close the incision, our hearts beating against each other. And I cried because my heart was so full of love for this tiny creature.

Every child’s birth was a wonder, a miraculous dance of the oldest kind. Each of you has always been the constant object of my love and care. This mother-love is what innervates my cells and motivates so many of my decisions. I hope that someday you will want to know your story so you can understand you were not just adopted but you were born.

Someday, I hope to have the honor of  telling you of your journey into this world and that yes, you were labored over, bled for, cried for, and above all else – loved.

Much love,

M.

2 thoughts on “Are you Thirsty? (Originally Posted Feb 2011)

  1. Oh Melynda!! Thank you for this beautiful post, reminding me that we mothers all belong to what a wise old friend once called The Mothers’ Union. The experience of birth is the most magical thing that can ever happen to a woman in my view and it is why the infertile struggle and suffer so much in trying to achieve what the rest of us are fortunate enough to achieve with ease or somewhere on a decreasing scale of difficulty. My precious Daughter smiled too and that particular smile is very special, appearing still on occasions when she is peaceful and content. So glad to have read your post today, a special day for us, the last day I have to get up to wave her goodbye as she goes off to work. Tomorrow she leaves the nest, not for the first time but definitely for the last time. She has found her own nest and we’re both excited about this new phase of our lives! It never fails to astound me that my little warm bundle grew into a competent, caring, compassionate, humorous woman, a faithful friend and a loyal Daughter. I hope someday you get to tell your story to your first born and that she hears the love and dedication. xx

Leave a Reply

