Searching for a New Home


As I mentioned in my previous post, these letters to my lost daughter have served their purpose and run their course. There’s not much left for me to say to her and what needs to be said (like how I met her father and the real reason we didn’t end up together), will be written in private and protected posts to which only she and I will have access.

On the other side of the river of grief I find there is still so very much I want and need to say about adoption, though, but I have come to realize this is not the space in which to do so. As such, I am searching for a new home for my pontifications and ponderings about adoption, LDS-style. My primary focus of my new blog is going to be family preservation advocacy and pathways to healing for first moms and families, generally (though not always) within the framework of the LDS culture and theology. I want to include research article reviews and summaries, book reviews, and insights I have gained over the past two decades. I’m trying to come up with a clever blog name but am having a bear of a time even coming up with a blog name, period.

I would like to get back to sharing what I am writing, but haven’t found a new home for it yet. Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Searching for a New Home

  1. First of all, I am so glad that you will be blogging again. I love your insights and the amazing way you articulate your thoughts and feelings.

    I liked your phrase “pathways to healing” as it implies there are multiple ways to progress and that it is a journey, not a simple “accept and move on” as many adoption professionals would like us to believe. I think the blog name should include the words birth mother and Mormon to make it easier to find in a Google search.

    Mormon birth mothers’ pathways to healing
    Pathways to healing for Mormon birth mothers

    I guess those are kind of long so maybe just Mormon Adoption Healing or even Mormon Birth Mothers. Good luck coming up with a name. I think you are great and am sad I didn’t get a chance to see you when you were here. Next time!

  2. I’m a 45 year old adoptee. Three years ago I found my birthmother, but she does not want any contact with me and had not told her family about me. Because of her secrecy, I often think that if she never changes her mind before she dies so much about my history and who I am will be completely lost to me. Your letters to your daughter are a priceless gift – I hope she will be able to receive them. I can tell you that reading your letters has touched my heart.

    All of this is to say, that your voice is important. I realize your focus in the new blog will be different, but I believe equally significant. I am looking forward to reading your thoughts on adoption and the intersection of LDS culture. I was raised in a conservative LDS home and remained LDS well into my adult years, although am not LDS now. I had a family member place a baby for adoption thru LDS Adoption Services right after the birth of my first child. I think the LDS culture adds another very complex dimension to adoption. Again, your voice will be important.

Leave a Reply

