The Wisdom of Grief


woman_LoganCemetery

“Give sorrow words; the grief that does not speak whispers the o’er-fraught heart and bids it break.” – William Shakespeare

There are some emotions that render us exquisitely vulnerable. Grief is one of those.

These last few days, the grief that only a mother of adoption loss can know has been my constant companion.  I am left feeling raw and wildly exposed to the vicissitudes of others, unsteady and unsure of what direction to take next. Reunion has a way of doing that to a woman.

Fortunately, grief also brings with it information about ourselves and others, information that can transform us and our relationships. Grief can empower us, if we let it.

And so I am letting it.

 

6 thoughts on “The Wisdom of Grief

  1. What information? How does it transform and empower? I try to get quiet in my head, try to learn from it, but all I’ve learned is that I don’t know how to let go of the wanting more, the need for validation.

    • Susie – oh, how I understand you questions because they have been mine, too. And you aren’t the only one who has asked me these same questions today, either. Once I get some sleep in me, I’ll try to answer them as best I know how, with full recognition that I am still learning myself.

    • I’ve been working with an energy healer, have made huge strides in validating my motherhood ~ that started with the birth of my first born son, even though I didn’t raise him. I no longer feel the need for “society” or anyone else in my life to validate my motherhood ~ except ~ I still find myself sometimes needing/wanting that validation from my son himself (today has been especially so). Thanks for your words Melynda & Von. I look forward to reading more of your thoughts Melynda.

Leave a Reply

